Irish Architects Declare Climate & Biodiversity Emergency

DATE FOR THE DIARY - Wednesday 15th July 7-8.30pm

A second chance to attend the Zoom meeting - CLICK HERE for tickets (RIAI Registered architects or Practices only)

The twin crises of climate breakdown and biodiversity loss are the most serious issue of our time. Buildings and construction play a major part, accounting for nearly 40% of energy-related carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions whilst also having a significant impact on our natural habitats.

For everyone working in the construction industry, meeting the needs of our society without breaching the earth’s ecological boundaries will demand a paradigm shift in our behaviour. Together with our clients, we will need to commission and design buildings, cities and infrastructures as indivisible components of a larger, constantly regenerating and self-sustaining system.

The research and technology exist for us to begin that transformation now, but what has been lacking is collective will. Recognising this, we are committing to strengthen our working practices to create architecture and urbanism that has a more positive impact on the world around us.

We will seek to:

Founding signatories:

Vivian Cummins Architects, Paul McNally: The PassivHaus Architecture Company, Mark Stephens Architects, Zeno Winkens: Winkens Architecture, Maoilíosa Reynolds M R D, Isabel Barros Architects, Lester Naughton Architect Ltd

We hope that every Irish architect/architectural practice will join us in making this commitment.


Sign here:

Please add the name of your practice
Please add your website URL
Please add your contact email
Please consent for us to store your data
*Required fields


A2 Architects Akiboye Conolly Architects Anne Harpur Architect Aoife Tuomey architects Architexture Arthur Gibney & Partners BDP C+W O'Brien Architects Caelan Bristow Carey Associates Architects Carrig Conservation International Ltd. Ciarán Ferrie Architects Criostóir Ó Raghallaigh Cronin Architects Cunningham Heavin custom Darragh Lynch Architects DATUM Architecture Studio Deirdre McDermott and Associates Deirdre McDermott and Associates Delphine Geoghegan dhbArchitects ltd Dorman Architects Douglas McGee Architects Dublin City Council Dublin School of Architecture Emmett Scanlon Eoin O'Keeffe Architects Fionnuala Rogerson Architects Found Architecture Free Market GAIA ecotecture GoKu Gottstein Architects Helena McElmeel Architects HORGAN CARROLL ARCHITECTS Isabel Barros Architects john flynn John McLaughlin Architects Kavanagh Tuite Architects Lafferty Architects Lester Naughton Architect Ltd Litema Architecture + Design Little Black Box Collective lotus architects Magee Creedon Architects Mark Stephens Architects martin murray architects Meitheal Design Partners Architects Mel Reynolds : M R D Metropolitan Workshop Michael B. Doyle Architects Michael Fitzpatrick Architects Michael Flynn Miles Sampson Architects MosArt MPBA Architects NOJI O'Neill Architecture Oar Architects PAC STUDIO pallas architect Paul McNally : The Passivhaus Architecture Company Paul Osborne Architects Peter Oakes Architects Philip T. Brady Architects Phoebe Brady praxis architecture Raeside Architects Rhatigan Architects RKD Robert Bourke Architects Rooh Studio Scott+MacNeill Sean Harrington Architects Sinead Cullen Slattery Design Stephen Carr Architects Stephen O'Shea Architects Studio Red Architects Vivian Cummins Architects Wain Morehead Architects Ltd Walsh + Walsh Architects Winkens Architecture Wrkshop
Site by Lovers